Universal Commerce Protocol in Merchant Center: 2027 AI Mode checkout guide

Google's UCP hub reaches Australia and Canada in early 2027. Fix feeds, returns, Google Pay and three checkout endpoints before you apply.

Read time
18 min
Word count
2.7K
Sections
15
FAQs
8
Share
Merchant checks product data on a tablet beside boxed stock and a barcode scanner, with the Google G and Google Pay wordmark
On this page · 15 sections
  1. What changed in 2026, and what 2027 brings
  2. What UCP is, in plain terms
  3. Three ways to plug in
  4. Merchant Center readiness: account, returns and support
  5. Product feed attributes for checkout
  6. Payments: Google Pay, PSPs and PCI
  7. Engineering checklist: profile, endpoints and security
  8. Onboarding steps for Australia and Canada in 2027
  9. Google UCP checkout compared with ChatGPT shopping
  10. Decision table: which path to take
  11. Worked example: sizing an eligible catalogue
  12. India: what is and is not announced
  13. Implementation checklist
  14. How eCorpIT can help
  15. References

Summary. The Universal Commerce Protocol (UCP) is the open standard Google launched on 11 January 2026 so AI agents can buy from merchants; on Google it puts a Buy button on eligible listings in AI Mode and the Gemini app, with the retailer as merchant of record. US shoppers have it, Canadian shoppers began getting it on 4 November 2026 through lululemon, select Shopify merchants, Shoppers Drug Mart and Simons, and Australian trade press reported a launch with five retailers in June 2026. Everyone else gets in through the UCP integration hub in Merchant Center, rolling out in the US and due in Australia and Canada early in 2027. You need a Merchant Center account in good standing with free-listing approval, returns and support settings, native_commerce(checkout_eligibility) set to TRUE, a public profile at /.well-known/ucp, a PSP that accepts Google Pay tokens, three checkout endpoints and order webhooks. Subscriptions, pre-orders, personalised and used items are excluded, the published checkout terms are US-only, and nothing is announced for India. Our verdict: clean feeds and payments now, ship cart transfer first if engineering time is short, and apply when the hub reaches your account.

About this article. For ecommerce and engineering leads selling in the US, Canada or Australia, including Indian brands with storefronts there. Checked on 7 November 2026 against Google Merchant Center Help, Google's UCP developer guides and blog posts, ucp.dev, the protocol's GitHub repository and OpenAI's merchant page; the Australian retailer launch comes only from trade press, as we found no Google page on it. Not legal advice: we read the US-only Checkout Terms page as listed on 7 November 2026. Google changes eligibility often, so re-check before committing engineering time. No vendor paid for inclusion. Researched with AI assistance and reviewed by our editorial team.

What changed in 2026, and what 2027 brings

The shopper checkout and the merchant onboarding route move on different clocks.

Date What happened
11 Jan 2026 Google launches UCP and announces checkout in AI Mode and the Gemini app for eligible US retailers
19 to 20 May 2026 Universal Cart introduced; checkout to reach Canada and Australia in the coming months, the UK later
17 Jun 2026 Trade press reports an Australian launch with Adore Beauty, Bunnings, Kogan, Petbarn and THE ICONIC
16 Sep 2026 US hub adds cart transfer and checkout testing; Australia and Canada early next year
15 Oct 2026 Universal Cart launches in the US across Search and the Gemini app
4 Nov 2026 Canadian shoppers start getting UCP checkout
Early 2027 Merchant Center hub opens to Australian and Canadian merchants

The milestones come from Google's posts, and the Australian launch from Inside Retail and Ragtrader.

Canada and Australia launched with named retailers. For everyone else there, the 2027 hub is the door: Google says it will start broadening access next year through simplified UCP integration in Merchant Center. On 16 September 2026, before the Canadian launch, Google said UCP already powered direct checkout for hundreds of thousands of brands and retailers.

What UCP is, in plain terms

UCP is a shared language between AI agents, businesses and payment providers: a merchant declares what it supports once, and any compliant agent can use it. The specification is on GitHub under the Apache 2.0 licence, governed by a council of Google, Shopify and, since 28 April 2026, Stripe. It covers catalogue search and lookup, cart building, checkout, identity linking and order management, runs over REST or JSON-RPC, and has built-in support for A2A, AP2 and MCP. Our MCP vs A2A decision guide covers the agent side.

Watch the version gap. The newest protocol release is v2026-08-25 (25 August 2026), but Google's guides cover 2026-04-08 and 2026-01-23, and its live agent profile declares 2026-04-08. Build against what Google declares.

Your profile, a JSON file at /.well-known/ucp, declares your capabilities, versions, endpoints, payment handlers and public keys; your server then picks from the overlap with Google's profile.

Four points matter commercially:

  • You stay merchant of record. The shopper accepts your terms in the flow.
  • You keep the customer data. Google retains the order data shown on the shopper's My orders page until the user asks for deletion.
  • Ranking is unaffected. Google says native integration does not change how it ranks your offers.
  • It is not the old checkout button. Merchant Center's existing checkout button completes the sale on your site; UCP checkout completes it on Google's surface.

Native checkout is the default, with Google rendering the interface; embedded checkout is an optional iframe route for approved merchants with bespoke flows.

Three ways to plug in

The validation checklist changes with the capabilities you pick, per Google's hub, Cart API and Merchant Center guides.

Capability What the shopper does What you build Validation in Merchant Center Feed control
Transfer to merchant cart Builds a cart on Google, finishes on your site Cart API; the initial release supports only Create Cart Fast track: product matching set-up plus cart tests On by default once your profile declares dev.ucp.shopping.cart; opt items out with native_commerce(cart_eligibility) set to FALSE
Native checkout on Google Pays in the Google Pay paysheet inside AI Mode or Gemini Three REST endpoints (create, update, complete) plus order webhooks Full: account set-up, endpoints, order status, UCP Program Addendum Opt in with native_commerce(checkout_eligibility) set to TRUE
Identity linking (coming soon) Signs in for loyalty and member benefits OAuth 2.0 endpoints and metadata Listed as coming soon Not a feed attribute

Cart transfer is the low-effort entry point: its validation skips full feed set-up, product warnings and support information, and it needs no payment handler or order webhooks, only UCP 2026-04-08 or later. Your payment stack, fraud rules and promotions stay as they are. Native checkout produces the Buy button inside the conversation; choose both and you complete both checklists.

Merchant Center readiness: account, returns and support

Account standing. Before the API build, you need a Merchant Center account in good standing with products approved for free listings.

Return policy. Returns are a merchant-of-record requirement and appear on the checkout screen. Include return cost, return window and a link to the full policy. Policies set in Merchant Center apply account-wide; use return_policy_label to scope one to some products, or the product-level returns attribute to define it inside the feed. On an advanced account, configure returns in each sub-account.

Customer support. Provide at least one of a support URL, email address or phone number. Google uses it for the contact link on the order confirmation page.

Product exclusions. Keep checkout_eligibility empty or FALSE for subscriptions and instalment plans; personalised, used, refurbished and final-sale items; pre-orders; warranty, installation or set-up bundles; freight or premium delivery; gifting with split invoices or hidden prices; items activated in store; age-restricted and prohibited Shopping categories; and services, rentals, virtual items and goods that need software installed first.

Product feed attributes for checkout

Google advises a supplemental data source, so a formatting slip does not break primary ingestion.

  • native_commerce(checkout_eligibility): a single boolean that opts an item into checkout. It defaults to FALSE, and only items set to TRUE show the Buy button. A plain native_commerce attribute still works as an alias.
  • native_commerce(cart_eligibility): the opt-out for cart transfer. If you use both features, use the composite native_commerce(checkout_eligibility:cart_eligibility), for example TRUE:FALSE.
  • consumer_notice: mandatory where a regulatory warning applies, such as California Proposition 65. notice_type is legal_disclaimer, safety_warning or prop_65; notice_message allows up to 1,000 characters.
  • merchant_item_id: maps the feed id to your checkout API's ID and takes precedence in agent requests.
  • variant_option: strongly recommended with item_group_id and item_group_title. Each name and value can run to 250 characters, and the group can repeat up to 30 times per item. Google warns that incomplete variant data can suppress the checkout button.

The trap is overwriting. Google replaces the whole native_commerce group on every upload and does not support incremental updates, so any flag missing from a file is blanked. Send every flag every time.


            id      item_group_id  native_commerce(checkout_eligibility:cart_eligibility)  variant_option
11111   GROUP_TEE      TRUE:TRUE                                               size:small,color:red
22222   GROUP_TEE      TRUE:FALSE                                              size:medium,color:blue
33333                  FALSE:TRUE
          

Google recommends the Merchant API for near real-time price and stock, or supplemental price and availability updates on scheduled feeds, to avoid checkout price mismatches. Do not plan around the Content API: it reached sunset on 18 August 2026, requests without an extension have failed intermittently with HTTP 410 since 1 September 2026, and full decommissioning is due in early 2027. Our Merchant API migration map covers the move.

Payments: Google Pay, PSPs and PCI

Shoppers pay with Google Pay, using cards and addresses saved in Google Wallet:

  • Console account. Create a Google Pay & Wallet Console account. You do not need a Google Pay button on your own site. One account or several (for example, one per country) both work.
  • PSP support. Your payment service provider must process Google Pay tokens; Google says most major global PSPs do.
  • Direct integration. Processing without a PSP means configuring payment-data encryption and uploading PCI compliance documentation.
  • Credentials. The feature uses funding primary account numbers (FPANs) stored in Google Wallet, and UCP on Google's AI surfaces uses only PAN_ONLY in allowed_auth_methods.
  • Separate configuration. Your UCP profile carries its own Google Pay configuration in snake_case, apart from any existing web integration.

Google said in January that PayPal was coming, and in May announced Affirm and Klarna inside Google Pay, but Merchant Center Help still lists only Wallet-stored FPANs and states no Canadian or Australian detail, so confirm with your PSP.

Engineering checklist: profile, endpoints and security

Publish the profile. Host /.well-known/ucp publicly with no authentication; Google's own agent profiles at ucp.goog show which extensions it supports per version.

Build the checkout endpoints. Google targets at least 95% availability for create, update and complete, with median latency of 1, 1 and 6 seconds and 95th-percentile latency of 4, 5 and 10 seconds. As merchant of record you must also:

  • Check inventory in real time and return out_of_stock when an item sells out mid-flow.
  • Validate addresses and return address_undeliverable or address_unverifiable outside your zones; Google does not block foreign addresses.
  • Recalculate shipping and tax when the shopper changes address.
  • Mark recoverable errors with severity recoverable, or the shopper hits a blocking error.

Push order updates. Webhooks must report created, shipped (with tracking number and URL) and delivered, in that order.

Choose the transport. REST is the default because Merchant Center validation supports only REST. Stateless MCP over JSON-RPC 2.0 is in Early Access (Beta) and needs Google to enable your account.

Secure the edge. Use mutual TLS against Google's UCP root certificate authorities, or verify RFC 9421 ES256 signatures against its published keys, cached no longer than 24 hours (max-age=86400). Expect traffic from AS15169, plus AS396982 for account linking, and do not geo-block. Exempt verified UCP traffic from bot management and rate limits: Google does not retry a 403 or 429, so one blocked request fails the checkout.

Classify traffic, but do not authenticate on headers.


            UCP-Agent: profile="https://ucp.goog/..."        -> UCP checkout, cart or order request
User-Agent: Google-Shopping-Merchant-Integration -> default UCP client
User-Agent: Google/UCP*                          -> sent when shopper user-agent propagation is on
User-Agent: Google-UCP-Prober/1.0                -> endpoint health check
GET /.well-known/ucp                             -> profile discovery (no UCP-Agent header)
          

Headers can be spoofed, so pair them with mTLS, signatures or credentials, and wildcard the profile path rather than hardcoding a date version. For upgrades, Google advises a separate endpoint per specification version so it can route traffic back.

Onboarding steps for Australia and Canada in 2027

Google's Merchant Center Help and hub guide set out the sequence:

  1. Implement first. Complete the technical build in the UCP developer guide before onboarding. Merchants without hub access follow the direct API integration path.
  1. Register interest. Submit the UCP integration interest form.
  1. Wait for selection. Google notifies selected merchants, who then see UCP integration under Settings, with Overview and Analytics tabs.
  1. Test in the sandbox. Exchange separate staging and production API keys by email, give your profile location, then simulate cart and checkout calls.
  1. Validate in production. Select capabilities, publish the profile (declared capabilities must match your selection exactly), complete the checklist, configure order webhooks and accept the UCP Program Addendum.
  1. Pass review. Google Support reviews the integration and tells you whether you are live.

Merchant Center also flags feed, returns or account settings that need fixing. To leave, remove the UCP add-on under Add-ons.

One legal gap: the Checkout Terms page is labelled US only, and its Checkout Addendum applies only to the United States; we found no Canadian or Australian version on 7 November 2026. The hub guide's scope line also covers only products sold within the United States, although Merchant Center Help now covers products eligible in the US, Canada and Australia. Platform sellers should ask their platform about UCP plans. Search Engine Roundtable reported on 22 September 2026 that Google told some Shopify merchants their products were automatically eligible for native checkout, with an opt-out in the Shopify admin.

Google UCP checkout compared with ChatGPT shopping

Our ACP vs UCP dual-protocol guide covers the engineering; this table reflects Google's and OpenAI's pages on 7 November 2026.

Factor Google UCP native checkout Google UCP cart transfer ChatGPT shopping (Agentic Commerce Protocol)
Where the purchase completes Google Pay paysheet in AI Mode or Gemini Your site's cart Your site or app; OpenAI says it is moving away from a standalone Instant Checkout
Merchant of record You You You
Catalogue source Merchant Center feed Merchant Center feed Product feed to OpenAI; Shopify and Etsy catalogues already integrated
Payment Google Pay with Wallet cards Your checkout Your checkout
Live markets for shoppers US; Canada from 4 Nov 2026; Australia reported from June 2026 US, through Universal Cart since 15 Oct 2026 US only
Purchase fees Not stated on Google's pages Not stated None on purchases that start in ChatGPT
India Not announced Not announced Not announced

Paid placement is a separate decision. Our piece on ChatGPT ads in India covers what Indian advertisers can buy in ChatGPT, and our AI Mode ads playbook covers Google's paid side.

Decision table: which path to take

Pick this If
Cart transfer only Your checkout carries complex promotions, B2B pricing or fraud rules you will not rebuild, or you have less than a sprint of engineering time
Native checkout You sell standard new goods with clear returns, your PSP accepts Google Pay tokens and you can run real-time inventory and tax APIs
Both You want the Buy button on simple items and a cart handoff for bundles, freight or loyalty-priced items
Embedded checkout Google approves you and your brand or flow cannot fit the native paysheet
Wait Most of your catalogue is excluded (subscriptions, made-to-order, regulated goods), or you sell only in markets Google has not named

Worked example: sizing an eligible catalogue

A hypothetical Canadian homeware retailer has 12,000 SKUs approved for free listings. These figures illustrate the arithmetic; they are not benchmarks.

Step SKUs
Catalogue approved for free listings 12,000
Less engraved or personalised items 900
Less final-sale clearance 600
Less pre-orders 350
Less freight-only furniture 250
Less items bundled with installation 100
Checkout-eligible (TRUE for checkout) 12,000 - 2,200 = 9,800

The exclusions total 900 + 600 + 350 + 250 + 100 = 2,200. Cart transfer is opt-out, so all 12,000 stay cart-eligible, including freight furniture quoted on the retailer's own site. The supplemental feed carries TRUE:TRUE for 9,800 items and FALSE:TRUE for 2,200, and because the group is overwritten, every upload carries all 12,000 rows. If 6,300 eligible items sit in variant groups, each needs variant_option pairs, or the Buy button may be suppressed, so real coverage is 9,800 at most until variant data is complete.

India: what is and is not announced

Google has announced no UCP checkout, hub or checkout terms for India in the pages we reviewed. Three related facts are on record:

  • UCP's roadmap names India. The protocol roadmap plans a phased rollout across markets including India, Asia Pacific and Latin America, with localised payment interoperability, and says it is not a commitment to deliver.
  • Flipkart endorsed UCP at the January launch, alongside Adyen, Mastercard, Visa and others.
  • AI performance insights are live in India. Since 16 September 2026, this Merchant Center tool, which compares your share of voice on AI Mode and AI Overviews, has been generally available in Australia, Canada, India, New Zealand and the US.

Indian D2C brands with overseas storefronts should note the hub guide's US-only scope line; Google does not say where the merchant's legal entity must sit, so ask before you build. If buyer data lands on servers in India, check notices against our DPDP Rules checklist.

Implementation checklist

Now to December 2026: confirm free-listing approval; set returns and a support contact; build the supplemental feed with composite native_commerce values and full variant data; move Content API code to the Merchant API; ask your PSP about Google Pay tokens in Canada and Australia.

January to March 2027: publish /.well-known/ucp declaring only what you have built; ship the Cart API, then the checkout endpoints and webhooks; configure mTLS, WAF exemptions and logging; submit the interest form and check Settings weekly for the hub.

After go-live: reconcile the hub's Analytics tab with your order system, and review consumer notices when products or rules change.

How eCorpIT can help

eCorpIT is a Gurugram-based technology organisation, founded in 2021, assessed at CMMI Level 5 and MSME certified, with senior-led engineering teams working across AWS, Microsoft and Google platforms. Our agentic commerce readiness service audits your Merchant Center feed for UCP, builds the supplemental feed and Merchant API sync, and implements the UCP profile, cart and checkout endpoints, webhooks and edge security. Talk to us at /contact-us/.

Last updated: 7 November 2026.

References

  1. New tech and tools for retailers to succeed in an agentic shopping era, 11 January 2026 — Google
  1. Boost your holiday sales with these agentic commerce updates, 16 September 2026 — Google
  1. A new way to shop: Introducing a more intuitive, agentic shopping experience for consumers and retailers in Canada, 4 November 2026 — Google Canada
  1. Google taps top Aussie retailers in AI shopping rollout, 17 June 2026 — Inside Retail Australia
  1. How to onboard to the UCP integration hub in Merchant Center — Google Merchant Center Help
  1. How to start UCP integration in Merchant Center, updated 6 November 2026 — Google for Developers
  1. Prepare your Merchant Center account — Google for Developers
  1. UCP frequently asked questions — Google for Developers
  1. Universal Commerce Protocol Checkout Terms of Service (US only) — Google Merchant Center Help
  1. Introducing the Universal Cart and more ways to help you shop, 19 May 2026 — Google
  1. How we're helping retailers thrive with new Universal Commerce Protocol features and AI tools on Google, 20 May 2026 — Google
  1. Google's new Universal Cart launches today in the U.S., 15 October 2026 — Google
  1. The Iconic, Kogan test Google's agentic AI checkout — Ragtrader
  1. Universal-Commerce-Protocol/ucp repository — GitHub
  1. Announcements — Universal Commerce Protocol
  1. Universal Commerce Protocol overview — ucp.dev
  1. Releases, Universal-Commerce-Protocol/ucp — GitHub
  1. Prepare your UCP profile — Google for Developers
  1. Google UCP agent profile (ucp.json) — Google
  1. About the Universal Commerce Protocol (UCP) and UCP-powered checkout feature on Google — Google Merchant Center Help
  1. Google Universal Commerce Protocol (UCP) Guide: getting started — Google for Developers
  1. Native checkout overview — Google for Developers
  1. Cart API — Google for Developers
  1. Content API for Shopping deprecation and sunset — Google for Developers
  1. Order lifecycle (post-purchase) — Google for Developers
  1. Model Context Protocol (MCP) transport (Beta) — Google for Developers
  1. Authentication — Google for Developers
  1. Network and WAF configuration — Google for Developers
  1. About Universal Commerce Protocol (UCP) integration hub in Merchant Center — Google for Developers
  1. Google Merchant Center Notifications For Native Checkout: Universal Commerce Protocol, 22 September 2026 — Search Engine Roundtable
  1. Power product discovery in ChatGPT — OpenAI
  1. Roadmap — Universal Commerce Protocol
  1. Monitor and optimize your integration (UCP analytics) — Google for Developers

Frequently asked

Quick answers.

01 What is the Universal Commerce Protocol?
UCP is an open standard, launched by Google on 11 January 2026 under the Apache 2.0 licence, that lets AI agents, merchants and payment providers exchange catalogue, cart, checkout and order data. On Google it powers a Buy button on eligible listings in AI Mode and the Gemini app.
02 When can Australian and Canadian merchants onboard through Merchant Center?
Google's Merchant Center Help says the UCP integration hub is rolling out in the US first, with Australia and Canada next year; its developer guide says early next year. Canadian shoppers got UCP checkout on 4 November 2026 through named retailers. No exact 2027 date is published.
03 Is UCP checkout already live in Australia?
Partly. Australian trade press reported in June 2026 that Google launched UCP checkout for single-item purchases with Adore Beauty, Bunnings, Kogan, Petbarn and THE ICONIC, and Merchant Center Help covers Australian products. Other Australian merchants wait for the Merchant Center hub, due early 2027.
04 Which feed attribute turns on the Buy button?
The native_commerce(checkout_eligibility) attribute set to TRUE opts a product into checkout; missing or FALSE means no Buy button. Cart transfer is opt-out through native_commerce(cart_eligibility). Use the composite checkout_eligibility:cart_eligibility form when you use both, and send every flag on every upload, because Google overwrites the whole group.
05 Do I need Google Pay on my own website?
No. Google says you do not need a Google Pay button on your own checkout to take part. You need a Google Pay & Wallet Console account, and your payment service provider must be able to process Google Pay tokens. Direct integration without a PSP requires payment-data encryption and PCI compliance documentation.
06 Which products cannot use UCP checkout?
Google excludes subscriptions and instalment plans, personalised goods, refurbished, used and final-sale items, pre-orders, products bundled with warranties or installation, freight or premium delivery, split-invoice gifting, in-store activation, age-restricted goods, prohibited Shopping categories, services, rentals, virtual items and goods that need software installed. Keep checkout eligibility FALSE for these items.
07 Does integrating UCP improve my ranking in AI Mode?
No. Google's FAQ says choosing native integration does not influence how it ranks your offers in product listings. Integrated offers gain the direct purchase option, but visibility still depends on feed quality, product data and relevance. Conversational attributes and accurate variant data help listings show up, according to Google.
08 Is UCP checkout available in India?
Not as of 7 November 2026. Google has announced no UCP checkout, hub or checkout terms for India. The UCP roadmap lists India in a future phased rollout but says it is not a commitment. Merchant Center's AI performance insights, which track AI Mode visibility, already work for Indian merchants.

About the author

Manu Shukla

Founder & Director

Founder of eCorpIT. Hands-on engineer leading senior-only delivery for AI apps, custom software, and cloud systems for global clients.

Subscribe

One engineering note a week. No fluff, no spam.

Senior-architect playbooks on AI agents, mobile apps, cloud, security, data, and marketing — delivered every Wednesday.

Past the reading

Read enough. Let's build something.

A senior architect responds in 24 working hours with scope, indicative cost, and a timeline. NDA before any technical conversation.

Loading search…

Browse all guides